Main Content

Strategy and Planning

Swiss higher education institutions develop four-years strategic plans and present them to the Swiss Conference of Higher Education Institutions. In these plans, the higher education institutions define common goals and measures, and calculate the necessary federal funding in accordance with article 47 of the Higher Education Act (HEdA).

The universities and Universities of Applied Sciences and Arts have created separate plans for the period 2017–2020. Priorities include measures to promote academic career development and to eliminate the shortage of qualified professionals in healthcare and technical jobs.

For the period 2021–2024, swissuniversities has submitted a joint plan for all types of higher education institutions. The overriding goal is to meet the challenges faced with a single, unified approach in order to preserve the outstanding quality of the higher education institutions, contribute to Switzerland's prosperity and maintain the country's leading position on the international stage.

In addition to consolidating the priorities for 2017–2020, the higher education institutions also place considerable joint emphasis on the measures they can take to tackle the opportunities and challenges of digital transformation. These measures concern both digitalisation in teaching and research and the organisation of the higher education institutions themselves. Optimal conditions for up-and-coming scientits are essential if Switzerland is to remain competitive. For that reason, measures aimed at developing up-and-coming talent and improving HR policies at higher education institutions have been launched or further developed.

With this and the forecast growth in student numbers in mind, swissuniversities has applied for an annual increase in basic contributions of 3.1.%. The higher education institutions plan to run joint projects in order to achieve the strategic goals. swissuniversities has applied for a total of CHF 125 million for this in the form of project-specific contributions.

Strategie und Planung

Die Schweizerischen Hochschulen erarbeiten im Vierjahresrhythmus eine strategische Planung zuhanden der Schweizerischen Hochschulkonferenz. Darin legen die Hochschulen die gemeinsamen Ziele und Massnahmen fest und definieren die dafür notwendigen Bundesmittel gemäss Art. 47 HFKG.

Für die Periode 2017-2020 haben die universitären Hochschulen und die Fachhochschulen je eine Planung erarbeitet. Schwerpunkte sind Massnahmen zur Förderung des Nachwuchses sowie die Behebung des Fachkräftemangels in Gesundheits- und technischen Berufen.

Für die Periode 2021-2024 hat swissuniversities eine gemeinsame Planung aller Hochschultypen eingereicht. Das übergreifende Ziel ist, den Herausforderungen geschlossen zu begegnen, um die herausragende Qualität der Hochschulen zu erhalten, um zur Prosperität der Schweiz beizutragen und um auch künftig international einen Spitzenplatz einzunehmen.

Nebst der Konsolidierung der Schwerpunkte 2017-2020 setzen die Hochschulen einen starken gemeinsamen Akzent auf Massnahmen, mit welchen sie die Chancen und Herausforderungen des digitalen Wandel packen können. Diese Massnahmen betreffen die Digitalisierung in der Lehre und Forschung, aber auch die Organisation der Hochschulen an sich. Um wettbewerbsfähig zu sein, sind optimale Bedingungen für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs zentral. Es werden deshalb Massnahmen zur Nachwuchsförderung und zur Personalpolitik an den Hochschulen gestartet oder weiterentwickelt.

Vor diesem Hintergrund und auf aufgrund des prognostizierten Wachstums der Studierendenzahlen beantragt swissuniversities ein jährliches Wachstum der Grundbeiträge von 3.1%. Zur Erreichung der strategischen Ziele wollen die Hochschulen gemeinsame Projekte durchführen. swissuniversities beantragt dafür insgesamt CHF 125 Mio. in Form von projektgebundenen Beiträgen.