Main Content

Descriptors and Learning Outcomes

When describing the study levels within Switzerland, the has adopted the descriptors of the QF EHEA, the so-called Dublin Descriptors[1]. They constitute the minimum requirements for the respective level of study.

These subject-independent and generic descriptors characterize the learning outcomes expected from an educational level in five categories. The five categories for levels 1-3 are:

  • “knowledge and understanding:
  • applying knowledge and understanding;
  • making judgements;
  • communications skills
  • learning skills.”


[1] Developed by a working group of the Joint Quality Initiative: JQI Conference in Dublin, March 23, 2004