Main Content



The president chairs the Board and represents swissuniversities and all Swiss universities at the national and international level.


Dr. Luciana Vaccaro

Rector of Haute école spécialisée de Suisse occidentale






The Board of the Rector's Conference is comprised of: The president, the chairs of the three chambers as vice-presidents ex officio and one other member of each chamber who is elected to the plenary assembly for a period of three years on the nomination of the chamber. The secretary general participates in the meetings in an advisory capacity.

The Board meets at least five times each year.

Members of the Board

  • Dr. Luciana Vaccaro, rector of the Haute école spécialisée de Suisse occidentale HES-SO, 
    president of swissuniversities
  • Prof. Dr. Astrid Epiney, rector of the University of Fribourg, chamber of universities
    vice president ex officio
  • Prof. Franco Gervasoni, rector of the Scuola universitaria professionale della Svizzera italiana SUPSI,
    vice president ex officio
  • Prof. Dr. Heinz Rhyn, rector of the University of Teacher Education Zürich, president of the chamber of universities of teacher education,
    vice president ex officio
  • Prof. Jürg Kessler, rector of the Fachhochschule Graubünden
  • Prof. Dr. Joël Mesot, president of ETH Zurich
  • Prof. Dr. Maxime Zuber, rector of the University of Teacher Education Berne-Jura-Neuchâtel
  • Dr. Martina Weiss, secretary general of swissuniversities
    (in an advisory capacity)