Main Content

EURAXESS – Researchers in motion

The promotion of junior researchers is of great strategic importance to Swiss higher education institutions and research locations. Highly-trained junior researchers and excellent career prospects contribute to international competitiveness and to national innovation strength.

For this reason, Switzerland is also a member of EURAXESS, a European initiative that supports researcher mobility and career development. More than 40 countries are involved in the EURAXESS network. swissuniversities coordinates the EURAXESS activities in Switzerland, which are financed by the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI).

Researchers can find information on living and working in Switzerland on the EURAXESS website. They also receive personalised, free advice at 14 EURAXESS Centres of Swiss universities. Refugee researchers are specifically supported by the EURAXESS science4refugees initiative.

EURAXESS also maintains a Europe-wide job and research promotion database for researchers who are looking for a position at a higher education institution, a research institute, in the private sector or for project funding.

EURAXESS advocates for fair employment and career prospects. The European Commission has developed a charter for researchers and a code of conduct for the recruitment of researchers (charter and code). The 40 principles that it contains include recommendations to employers of researchers and to researchers. They cover a wide variety of topics such as freedom of research, supervisory tasks, career development and fair systems to assess researchers. The Human Resources Strategy for Researchers (HRS4R) is a further tool developed by the European Commission to systematically implement these principles.

The majority of Swiss higher education institutions have appointed a contact person for the charter and code and some Swiss institutions have developed an action plan in line with the HRS4R. Researchers can also take advantage of a wide range of services at Swiss higher education institutions to support their career development.

Main Content

EURAXESS – Researchers in motion

Die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses ist für den Schweizer Hochschul- und Forschungsstandort von grosser strategischer Bedeutung. Exzellent ausgebildeter wissenschaftlicher Nachwuchs und gute Karrierebedingungen tragen zur internationalen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und zur nationalen Innovationskraft bei.

Aus diesem Grund ist die Schweiz auch Mitglied von EURAXESS, einer europäischen Initiative, welche die Mobilität und Karriere von Forschenden fördert. Mehr als 40 Länder sind Teil des EURAXESS-Netzwerks. swissuniversities koordiniert die EURAXESS-Aktivitäten in der Schweiz, die vom Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (SBFI) finanziert werden.

Auf der Webseite von EURAXESS finden die Forschenden Informationen über das Leben und Arbeiten in der Schweiz. An 14 EURAXESS-Zentren von Schweizer Hochschulen werden sie persönlich und kostenlos dazu beraten. Forschende, die geflüchtet sind, werden durch die EURAXESS science4refugees-Initiative spezifisch unterstützt.

EURAXESS unterhält zudem eine europaweite Job- und Forschungsförderungsdatenbank für Forschende, die eine Stelle an einer Hochschule, einem Forschungsinstitut, im privaten Sektor oder eine Projektfinanzierung suchen.

EURAXESS setzt sich für faire Anstellungs- und Karrierebedingungen ein. Die Europäische Kommission hat dafür eine Charta für Forschende und einen Verhaltenskodex für die Einstellung von Forschenden (Charter and Code) erlassen. Die darin enthaltenen 40 Prinzipien enthalten Empfehlungen an Arbeitgeber von Forschenden und an Forschende. Sie umfassen die unterschiedlichsten Themen wie die Freiheit der Forschung, Betreuungsaufgaben, Laufbahnentwicklung und faire Systeme zur Beurteilung von Forschenden Mit der Human Resources Strategy for Researchers (HRS4R) hat die Europäische Kommission ebenfalls ein Instrument zur systematischen Umsetzung dieser Prinzipien geschaffen.

Die Mehrheit der Schweizer Hochschulen hat Ansprechpersonen für den Charter and Code ernannt und einige Schweizer Institutionen haben gemäss der HRS4R einen Aktionsplan erstellt.

Die Forschenden können an den Schweizer Hochschulen zudem ein breites Angebot zur Unterstützung ihrer Laufbahnentwicklung in Anspruch nehmen.