Main Content

P-9 Development of the subject-specific didactics

Contents: In order to strengthen research and to promote young talent, the programme P-9 supports national and international networking and allows higher education institutions to set up and develop master programmes as well as to create qualification positions at Master's and doctoral level

Target group: The programme addresses UTE, UASA and universities.

Duration: project contributions 2017–2020

Call for tenders: It is no longer possible to hand in applications. swissuniversities is actually preparing a follow-up programme for the period 2021-24.

The project «Development of academic skills in subject-specific didactics 2017-2020» wants to ensure that Swiss universities of teacher education (UTE) continue to have highly qualified specialists in subject-specific teaching methodology as lecturers, and are able to offer education to their trainee teachers based on a strong scientific foundation.

UTE have submitted 57 individual projects, in two sub-projects, in close cooperation with the Swiss universities and universities of applied sciences and arts (UASA). These projects aim to support the creation of an effective structure for subject-specific didactics as a scientific discipline, as well as the promotion of young talent.

Project content

Subject-specific didactics as academic disciplines are of central importance to teacher training. These disciplines cover subject-specific teaching and learning and form the foundation for good quality and effective teaching of subjects at primary and secondary schools.

Therefore, universities of teacher education require lecturers trained in subject-specific didactics. One of the goals of this project is to create qualification opportunities for lecturers in subject-specific didactics. Another goal is to establish more – and more specific – connections with international research and development.

Sub-projects

Two sub-projects at universities of teacher education will therefore support the structured expansion of the academic discipline of subject-specific didactics and the promotion of qualified young talent, in close collaboration with universities and universities of applied sciences. In a third sub-project an expert committee will be created. This expert committee will provide advice for the development of subject-specific didactics and coordinate its structure with a view to developing a national strategy.

Sub-project 1 (TP1)

By means of TP1 the subject –specific didactics are to be institutionally and structurally consolidated and developed.

Specifically, the setting up and development of the scientific subject-specific didactics are to be advanced and financially supported in TP1 by the following means:

  • Creating or developing Master's degree programmes
  • Supporting and developing new and existing networks of researchers to create and promote scientific knowledge in the respective subject-specific didactics
  • International consolidation of the research in subject-specific didactics (e.g. by cooperative endeavours with international networks, organising conferences, setting up an academic journal for subject-specific didactics, etc.)
  • Preparing applications for project funding by the Swiss National Science Foundation based on cooperation among the various types of universities.

Sub-project 2 (TP2)

TP2 aims at supporting the disciplinary structure of the subject-specific didactics by promoting qualified young talent. To promote personnel development, qualification and career positions are to be created.

Creation of qualification positions at the Master's level

Qualification positions are created for Master's degree students, meeting the following requirements:

  • assisting in the field of research in subject-specific didactics;
  • assisting in the field of teaching subject-specific didactics;
  • any additional specialist requirements;
  • attending a Master's degree programme for the respective subject-specific didactics

Creation of qualification positions at the doctoral level

Persons who have a Master's degree in subject-specific didactics or in a subject-specific discipline, or teachers of secondary school level I and/or II, will be given the opportunity to do their doctorate with the following requirements:

  • assisting in the field of research in subject-specific didactics;
  • assisting in the field of teaching subject-specific didactics;
  • any additional specialist requirements or ensuring practical relevance

Sub-project 3 (TP3)

TP3 will establish an international expert committee, which will be in charge of contributing to the development of a national strategy in the field of subject-specific didactics. This will be done in close cooperation with the Chamber of UTE. The strategy will be implemented within the BFI period 2021-2024.

Main Content

P-9 Aufbau der Fachdidaktiken

Inhalt: Zur Stärkung der Forschung und zur Nachwuchsförderung im Bereich Fachdidaktiken unterstützt das P-9 die nationale und internationale Vernetzung, den Aufbau und die Weiterentwicklung von Masterprogrammen sowie die Schaffung von Qualifikationsstellen auf Stufe Master und Doktorat.

Zielgruppe: Das Programm richtet sich an PH, FH und UH.

Laufzeit: Projektgebundene Beiträge 2017–2020

Ausschreibungen: Es können keine Gesuche mehr eingegeben werden. Ein Nachfolgeprogramm für die Periode 2021-24 ist in Vorbereitung.

Mit dem Projekt «Aufbau der wissenschaftlichen Kompetenzen in den Fachdidaktiken 2017-2020» soll sichergestellt werden, dass die Institutionen der Lehrerbildung auch weiterhin hochqualifizierte fachdidaktisch versierte Dozierende zur Verfügung haben und angehenden Lehrpersonen eine wissenschaftlich abgestützte Ausbildung bieten können.

Pädagogische Hochschulen (PH) haben in enger Kooperation mit den universitären Hochschulen (UH) und Fachhochschulen (FH) 57 Einzelprojekte in zwei Teilprojekten eingereicht. Diese haben zum Ziel, den strukturbildenden Aufbau der wissenschaftlichen Disziplin Fachdidaktik und die Nachwuchsförderung zu unterstützen.

Projektinhalte

Fachdidaktiken als Wissenschaften sind von zentraler Bedeutung für die Lehrerinnen- und Lehrerbildung. Sie bilden als Wissenschaften des fachspezifischen Lehrens und Lernens mit fachwissenschaftlichem Bezug die Grundlage für einen qualitativ guten und wirksamen Fachunterricht in der Volksschule und in den Schulen der Sekundarstufe II.

Hierzu benötigen die Institutionen der Lehrerinnen- und Lehrbildung fachdidaktisch ausgebildete Dozierende. Eines der Ziele des Projektes ist es daher, Qualifizierungsmöglichkeiten für Dozierende in Fachdidaktik zu schaffen. Ein weiteres Ziel des Projektes ist die vermehrte und gezielte Anbindung an die internationale Forschung und Entwicklung.

Teilprojekte

In zwei Teilprojekten wird an den PH in enger Kooperation mit den UH und FH daher der strukturbildende Aufbau der wissenschaftlichen Disziplin Fachdidaktik und die Förderung von qualifiziertem Nachwuchs unterstützt. In einem dritten Teilprojekt wird ein Expertengremium gebildet, das die Entwicklung der Fachdidaktiken in der Schweiz beratend begleitet und ihre Strukturierung in Hinblick auf die Erarbeitung einer nationalen Strategie koordiniert.

Teilprojekt 1 (TP1)

Mit Hilfe des TP1 sollen die Fachdidaktiken institutionell und strukturell konsolidiert und weiterentwickelt werden.

Konkret soll der Auf- und Ausbau der wissenschaftlichen Fachdidaktiken im TP1 mit folgenden Massnahmen vorangetrieben und finanziell unterstützt werden:

  • Weiterentwicklung bzw. Aufbau von Masterprogrammen
  • Unterstützung bzw. Weiterentwicklung von neuen und bestehenden Netzwerken von Forscherinnen und Forschern zur Schaffung und Vertiefung von wissenschaftlichem Wissen in der jeweiligen Fachdidaktik
  • Internationale Anbindung der fachdidaktischen Forschung (z.B. durch Kooperationen mit internationalen Netzwerken, durch Organisation von Kongressen, Aufbau einer wissenschaftlichen Zeitschrift in Fachdidaktik, etc.)
  • Vorbereitung von Eingaben für Nationalfondsprojekte in hochschultypenübergreifenden Kooperationen

Teilprojekt 2 (TP2)

Das TP2 zielt darauf ab, durch die Förderung von qualifiziertem Nachwuchs den disziplinären Aufbau der Fachdidaktiken zu unterstützen. Um die personelle Entwicklung voranzutreiben, werden Qualifikations- bzw. Laufbahnstellen geschaffen.

Schaffung von Qualifikationsstellen auf Stufe Master

Für Masterstudierende werden Qualifkationsstellen unter folgenden Voraussetzungen geschaffen:

  • Mitarbeit im Bereich der fachdidaktischen Forschung
  • Mitarbeit im Bereich der fachdidaktischen Lehre
  • allfällige fachwissenschaftliche Zusatzauflagen
  • Besuch eines Masterprogramms in der entsprechenden Fachdidaktik

Schaffung von Qualifikationsstellen auf Stufe Doktorat

Personen mit einem fachdidaktischen oder -wissenschaftlichen Master bzw. Lehrpersonen für die Sek I und/oder Sek II wird unter folgenden Voraussetzungen ein Doktorat ermöglicht:

  • Mitarbeit im Bereich der fachdidaktischen Forschung
  • Mitarbeit im Bereich der fachdidaktischen Lehre
  • allfällige fachwissenschaftliche Auflagen resp. Sicherstellung Praxisbezug

Teilprojekt 3 (TP3)

Mit dem TP3 wurde ein international besetztes Expertengremium geschaffen und beauftragt, durch Projektmonitoring und Expertise zur Erarbeitung einer langfristig angelegten nationalen Strategie im Bereich der Fachdidaktiken in Absprache mit der Kammer PH beizutragen. Die Umsetzung der Strategie wird ab BFI-Periode 2021-2024 erfolgen.